Sri Lanka

Surgical Congress


Await more details:- TBC

14 - 16 September 2023

Compassionate Surgery

President of the CSSL

Professor Nandadeva Samarasekera

It is my honour and privilege to serve as the 41st President of the College of Surgeons of Sri Lanka having been part of this College for 21 years as a member, Assistant Treasurer, Secretary, Vice President and President-Elect.

Thanks to the generosity of Dr Noel and Mrs Nora Bartholomeusz, the College has moved from humble beginnings in a small room at Wijerama House to the present magnificent building that combines both the vintage and the modern. In the year 2000, the then President Prof A H Sheriffdeen along with Mrs Anne Ranasinghe and the late Dr Vimala Navaratnam were instrumental in facilitating this process, and I was fortunate as the secretary that year, to be one of the signatories to this transfer with the Professor A H Sheriffdeen.

As an academic and a postgraduate trainer, the theme “Training the Future Surgeon” is close to my heart. The rapid evolution of medical technology poses both opportunities and challenges to surgeons and trainees. The College needs to gear its membership to this reality and foster ties with our regional and international partners including the SAARC Surgical Care Society, professional colleges in South-East Asia, Australia and the Royal Colleges of the UK towards this objective.

The seeds of a surgical career are often laid down in the company of inspirational surgeons. I call our membership to be these role models to motivate our best and brightest medical students and young doctors to be participants of this vision for the future.

Congress Co-Chairs

Academic Co-Chairs

Latest News

Key Dates

Organizing Committee

International Faculty

Mr Stephen W Fenwick                             

Dr Shyam Varadarajulu

Dr Raja Shanmugakirshnan

Professor David Gyorki

Professor Mike Griffin

Professor Christopher R Chapple

Dr Venkatesh Munikrishnan

Dr Roy Patankar

Professor Narasimhaiah Srinivasaiah

Dr Judy Evans

Dr Udayangani Samarakkody

Professor David Richens

Professor Jacqueline Taylor

Professor Abhay Rane

Professor Rowan Parks

Mr Phil Tozer

Professor David G Armstrong

Professor Surendra Kumar Mantoo

Dr Siddesh G

Professor Abdul Majeed Chaudhry

Professor Sunil Kumar Dhakal

Dr Jim Khan

Professor Rajeev Parameswaran

Professor Amit Agarwal

Dr P Jagannath

Professor Krishnakumar Madhavan

Mr Hassan Malik

Mr Mike McKirdy

Dr Narasimhia Sirinivasan

Dr Sharmila Dissanaike

Dr Padmini Hewavitharana




National Faculty

Dr Ajith De Silva

Dr P Parthiepan  

Professor Ranil Fernando

Dr Shivantha Fernandopulle

Dr Dammika Dissanayake

Dr Suranga Manilgama

Professor Aloka Pathirana

Dr Minoli Joseph

Dr Sharmila Dissanaike

Dr T G Amal Priyantha

Dr Nissanka Jayawardhana

Dr Duminda Ariyaratne

Dr Niluka T Amarasinghe

Dr Buddhima Jayawickrama

Dr Joel Arudchelvam

Dr Amanthana Marasinghe

Dr Padmini Hewavitharana

Dr Arosha Dissanayake

Dr Buddhika Dassanayake

Dr Malik De Soysa

Dr Kanishka De Silva

Dr Surath Munasingha

Dr Jagath Kumara Rathugamage

Dr Kithsiri Senanayake

Dr P Jagannath

Professor Krishnakumar Madhavan

Dr Nilesh Fernandopulle

Michael Silva

Narasimhia Sirinivasan






Pre congress workshops

Post congress workshops

Free paper sessions

Meet the experts

Master Classes







Other Events




Abstract Guidelines

There have no any pdf

Abstract submission portal

“The time duration for Abstract submissions has now elapsed.
Thank you!”


Copyright © 2009 - 2023 The College of Surgeons of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved | Designed by Web Solutions Lanka